Matthew R. Perry

A Letter to Non-Attending Members

In Church Life on March 2, 2007 at 10:44 am

A friend of mine sent me a link of a letter written by a pastor to his non-attending members. I was touched by the pastoral nature of this letter, while at the same time moved by the conviction he had over church membership and its seriousness therein. I urge all of you to read this letter, especially those of you from Boone’s Creek Baptist where I pastor. I would like your comments on this.

Click here to read.

(HT: Baptist Blogger and Mark Combs)

  1. I was touched by the letter and think it’s time for more churches to take membership seriously. I would be interested in seeing the by-laws of his church.

  2. I think it is sad to see someone has to be disciplined and have their membership removed, but at the same time it is good to see churches starting to practice church discipline. I had never heard of church discipline until I got to college, and I can’t ever recall witnessing anyone get kicked out. I think that making steps to try to ensure you have regenerate church membership is very important. I would be interested to see how they would kick them out. I have heard this is the best place to start practicing discipline in a church that hasn’t done it in the past, but I wonder if they would remove them one by one with church vote or something, or would the church vote one time to remove all the members who were not active. I think it makes sense to not allow people to just leave the church silently, because they may go down the street and join another church, they would never have to admitt to being kicked out of church before, but if you make it public that they are kicked out then it is on the other church whether they allow the person to join. This is a topic that really intrest me, but something I don’t know a lot about never seeing it in action. I do think that church discipline is necassary for churches.

  3. I’m so grateful to have found your site. It was one that ‘popped up’ at the bottom of my post titled …Heartache At The Hands of The “Church”. It includes a letter written to me from my senior pastor.

    Your site let me see that there really are some pastors that care about their leadership and congregation. If you read my post, it would mean a great deal to hear from you.

    In His Hand,

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

