Matthew R. Perry

O Lord, I Desire to Be Humbled

In Devotional on March 14, 2006 at 11:44 am

Under a sense of my sins and unmerited mercies, I desire through grace, in sincerity and humility of soul, to approach to the Author of all my mercies, and to lay before You, O merciful Father! all my plans–desiring Your divine direction.

And, in the first place, I confess my own sins. I desire to be humbled under my natural proneness to evil and aversion to good; for my many sinful thoughts, which You, O Lord, know; for my wrong conceptions of the great Jehovah, and the smallness of my holy fear when in Your presence, calling on You before whom all the earth should tremble.

I also desire to be humbled for my limiting God, as if he were not Almighty; for not placing all my faith and hope on Him alone, but on appearances and probabilities; for my ingratitude to God for His many matchless mercies to me in feeding and clothing me, and giving me favor in the eyes of men with whom I had to do. Providence has never failed me, but always supplied me; yet in the time of prosperity I sinned, and joined with sinners in their follies, which now I lament, and desire to be humbled for.

O to learn the language of Your rod!

O Lord! I desire to be humbled for . . .
all my prevailing lusts and passions;
my spiritual pride,
my ignorance of the things of God,
my barrenness under the gospel,
my lukewarmness about the things of Christ;
my carelessness about pious duties.

Ah! that ever I should doubt the good will of Him who heard my cry and delivered me out of the hand of my fierce afflictions, manifesting His mighty power. I desire to be humbled for my earthly-mindedness and my desire after temporal things–riches, honor, and glory–which perish and pass away. I desire to be humbled for that great mountain of sins accumulated on me since my last season of prayer.

And now I desire to lay before You my petitions. And first of all, O to be daily getting nearer and nearer You; to be growing more and more acquainted with lovely
Jesus, increasing more and more in grace, becoming more and more like You, and daily less conformed to the world; to be delighting more and more in spiritual things, given more and more to meditation on the glory to be revealed, loving Him more and more, who loved me!

O to be delighting in God all the day long, living in His fear as before Him always, learning more and more submission to His disposals in providence, and more and more persuaded of the rectitude of His will, the equity of His law, the longness of His patience, and His care of His own. O to get some victory over prevailing sin, and that which so easily besets me! O, Let never the greed for money get a hold of my heart; keep me from covetousness.

Now, O Lord, in the hope that You will hear, I lay all my petitions before You. Choose what you will, cast away what you will–I will be content. I commit myself to You. I take You as my God and Father, for my Savior, for my Sanctifier forever. O hear!

I desire in truth, O majestic Jehovah! to call these heavens over my head, the hills and mountains aroundme, the growing grass–to be witnesses, that I this day subscribe with my hand to be Yours, wholly Yours. Amen, amen! So be it!

James Meikle, July, 1752.
(from a paper found among his remains)

(Distributed by Grace Gems, who sends out quotes of this nature daily.)

  1. Like icy clear water from a spring! What a beautiful brokenness of a soul consumed by God. A better sermon than a thousand I have heard.

    May the King of heaven so draw my heart to brokeness for it is so proud and incapable of brokenness. May we cease our vain striving and wait upon the Lord. May we quietly whisper our prayers to Him who hears. May we forsake our sin as zealously as we often forsake God.

    What is man that You think so highly of him Lord? We are but sinful dust and we are not worthy of the least of Thy mercies.

  2. WOW!! Amen, amen, & AMEN!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

