Matthew R. Perry

The Prayer of the Consistent Synergist (Reformation Theology)

In Church Life, Theology on June 24, 2006 at 2:59 pm

The Reformation Theology blog has a great post on the "Prayer of the Consistent Synergist."  Synergism is "…the doctrine that there are two efficient agents in regeneration, namely the human will and the divine Spirit, which, in the strict sense of the term, cooperate. This theory accordingly holds that the soul has not lost in the fall all inclination toward holiness, nor all power to seek for it under the influence of ordinary motives."  This gives some power of salvation to the human rather than salvation being solely "of the Lord" (Jonah 2:9).

I also noticed in the comments section how a synergist would sing Amazing Grace.  It is as follows:

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound,
My choice saved me!
I once was lost, but found my way,
Was partially vision-impared, but now am healed.

The Lord has promised good to me,
My action, His hope secures!
He shall my sheild and portion be,
So long as I don't lose my salvation.

Through many dangers, toils, and snares,
I have already come,
Twas my faithfulness that brought me safe thus far,
And I'll bring myself home.

  1. The central aspect of this conversation is focused upon the depravity of man. If man is TOTALLY DEPRAVED he has no ability to seek after God. If the man is partially depraved – he can find a way out of sin and to God.

    The Scriptures are unequivocally clear – man is totally depraved – Romans 3 and Ephesians 2. In the doctrine of man’s depravity – we see man’s helplessness and God’s power!

    How Great Thou Art!

    Josh Buice
    Practical Theology Discussions
    http://www.joshbuice.blogspot.com

  2. Hmmm…

    That prayer would be a prayer of a certain branch of synergism but not the whole group of it. Not all synergists believe, contrary to what many Southern students perceive, that you can “lose” your salvation. Some do. Others believe (many Lutheran groups) that you can reject Christ vocally and you will be then rejected by Christ before God.

  3. Mike:

    So either way salvation is lost, according to either branch of synergists … hmmm.

Leave a Reply

