Matthew R. Perry

The Saddleback staff standards on moral integrity (Rick Warren — good stuff!)

In For Preachers/Pastors, For Seminary Students, Leadership, Rick Warren/PDL on August 15, 2006 at 6:42 pm

No matter how many times I hear it, it still shocks me: A pastor announces his resignation because of adultery. Often it’s with someone within his church, sometimes even someone actively involved in ministry, such as a choir member or Sunday school teacher. 

It’s such an incredible waste of God’s resources that it not only grieves me – it angers me. I have told my staff that if any of them even flirt with temptation, I will come after them with a baseball bat, and I’ve told them to do the same with me. 

As Christian leaders, we need to be above reproach. Paul wrote, “Don’t be so naive and self-confident. You’re not exempt. You could fall flat on your face as easily as anyone else. Forget about self-confidence; it’s useless. Cultivate God-confidence.” (1 Cor. 10:12 MSG) 

That’s why I established these Saddleback staff standards for maintaining moral integrity:

 

(To read the rest of this article, click here.)

Leave a Reply

