Matthew R. Perry

Liveblogging my DMin Week at Southern

In Uncategorized on June 24, 2007 at 9:54 pm

This week, I am in Louisville getting ready for a seminar in New Testament. I am about one year in to my three-year study for a DMin at Southern Seminary. I and my friend/roomie for the week, Mark Combs, will be liveblogging this rather … fascinating time. Really, it’s an intense week and this will be a good way to let off some steam.

Sunday, 10:41 p.m.

After going to eat at Moe’s Southwest Grill (I got the Billy Barou nachos, which was like eating a small town), we arrived at Southern around 8:45. We went to the store to pick up some food, since it’d cost an arm and a leg to eat out every meal. Mark’s a runner, so he can eat a side of beef and run it all off. I on the other hand am not a runner, and only run when someone has a needle in their hand (just ask my wife when she tried to give me a tetanus shot — not pretty). 

We’re now sitting here watching the Detroit Tigers play the Atlanta Braves. The Tigers look solid and the Braves lack that fire. I will say that Jeff Francoeur made a dynamite double play by catching a pop-out 3/4 of the way back in the outfield, then throwing out a runner tagging up from third.

Tomorrow will be the fun time. All the DMin students will meet for a Welcome Breakfast at Heritage Hall. For me, I’m excited about the bacon. Really. Bacon tends to do that to me.

But I am blessed to have a great cohort group:

  • Don Brown, pastor of Village Church at Holly Springs, NC;
  • Steven Lookabaugh, pastor, Medway Baptist Church, Medway, OH
  • Roberto Sanchez, pastor of a Hispanic church he planted seven years ago in LA;
  • Ben Skaug, pastor, Central Baptist Church, Aurora, CO;
  • Kevin Wilson, Youth Pastor, Ephesus Baptist Church in Winston, GA.

More tomorrow.  (Riveting, isn’t it?)

Powered by ScribeFire.

  1. Even more exciting than I would have imagined!

Leave a Reply

