Matthew R. Perry

Liveblogging my DMin Week at Southern Seminary, Day One (11:00 p.m.)

In Uncategorized on June 25, 2007 at 10:02 pm

After taking my friend Ben to Wal-Mart, I spent the majority of my time in the library.  I ran into Steve Weaver who was doing some research (and why not?  After all, Southern has the greatest theological library in the world with over 900,000+ volumes!). 

I spent the majority of my time working on my Prospectus (that is, my proposal for my dissertation for my doctorate).  My proposal is to train aspiring ministers and lay preachers in the basics of expository preaching at Boone’s Creek Baptist Church.  After looking at how Jesus trained the disciples for ministry (Matthew 28:19-20, Luke 24:27, Acts 1:3) and see how they in turn preached the whole counsel of God in their area of ministry, I am hoping to use those biblical foundations to implement a solid ministry in that area here at Boone’s Creek.  I’d appreciate your prayers.  That 25-page prospectus is due September 3. 

Bedtime beckons.  Fortunately, our class doesn’t start until 9:00 rather than the 8:00 time our other class began.  Pray that I will absorb what I learn in class and that I would be a good steward of my time outside of it. 

May Jesus Christ be praised.

  1. It was good to see you! Sounds like a good class!

Leave a Reply

