Matthew R. Perry

LearningToRun.com — An Inspiring Running Blog by Joe Thorn

In Running on August 27, 2007 at 9:47 pm

Joe Thorn three months ago began running.  Last week I began running.  Joe three months ago was 45 pounds overweight — I’m 30-35 pounds overweight.  Joe could barely make it 1/4 of a mile his first day.  Same here. 

But God has used Joe to inspire me.  He can now run a 5K in around 33 minutes and has lost 16 pounds. 
So there’s hope for me.  Thanks, Joe, for the inspiration. 

HT:  Mark Combs.

Powered by ScribeFire.

  1. Thanks for the link Matt. I tried to leave a comment on your earlier post but for some reason WP was choking on it. Keep running man! I have really fallen in love with it. Today was my PR (personal record) for the 5K. 31:29. My goal for my first actual race is anything under 30 minutes.

  2. I’d love to start running. With a busy schedule, when do you run? Maybe you have some pointers?

    Steven

  3. I run first thing in the morning, between 6:00 and 6:30 a.m. That’s the only time that’s cool enough and it’s before the day gets rolling. Otherwise, I don’t do it.

  4. I run when it best fits my schedule. On my day off (Mon) I run in the mornings. On Wednesday (I am in the Home study for most of the day) and Saturdays I run in the mornings. But the other day or two I have to run later – afternoon, or early evening.

    The thing is, everyone responds differently to running in the AM. Mentally I love it, but physically – once I started running 2 miles and up for sure – I couldn’t do it unless I had a small bowl of oatmeal and a half a banana and hour before the run. Without that fuel I gas out. With it I run great.

    Just run when you can. I have even run from the church office (my first four miler for example) and then cleaned up in the washroom and continued with my day.

Leave a Reply

