Matthew R. Perry

Bush Believes All Religions Pray to the ‘Same God’ (WorldNetDaily.com)

In Uncategorized on October 9, 2007 at 2:20 pm

An excerpt:

President George W. Bush repeated his belief all religions, “whether they be Muslim, Christian, or any other religion, prays to the same God” – an assertion that caused outrage among evangelical leaders when he said it in November 2003.

Bush made the statement Friday in an interview with Al Arabiya reporter Elie Nakouzi.

Al Arabiya is Al Jazeerah’s top competitor in the Mideast.

As the president and Nakouzi walked from the Oval Office to the Map Room in the White House residence, Nazouki asked, “But I want to tell you – and I hope this doesn’t bother you at all – that in the Islamic world they think that President Bush is an enemy of Islam – that he wants to destroy their religion, what they believe in. Is that in any way true, Mr. President?”

“No, it’s not,” said Bush. “I’ve heard that, and it just shows [sic] to show a couple of things: One, that the radicals have done a good job of propagandizing. In other words, they’ve spread the word that this really isn’t peaceful people versus radical people or terrorists, this is really about the America not liking Islam.

Well, first of all, I believe in an Almighty God, and I believe that all the world, whether they be Muslim, Christian, or any other religion, prays to the same God. That’s what I believe. I believe that Islam is a great religion that preaches peace. And I believe people who murder the innocent to achieve political objectives aren’t religious people, whether they be a Christian who does that – we had a person blow up our – blow up a federal building in Oklahoma City who professed to be a Christian, but that’s not a Christian act to kill innocent people.

“And I just simply don’t subscribe to the idea that murdering innocent men, women and children – particularly Muslim men, women and children in the Middle East – is an act of somebody who is a religious person.

(Read the rest of this article here.)

What think ye?

Powered by ScribeFire.

  1. I think Bush is simply representative of many Christians in our churches who believe the same thing. I remember hearing similar sentiments as a child from my fourth grade teacher and later from an actual Sunday School teacher when I was in junior high. But this is what we get when we avoid teaching theology and anything controversial in our churches. Bush is the product of this, but his voice just gets more attention.

  2. I believe that Bush’s pastor should correct him, considering that pluralism is not, was not, and never will be biblical.

    If public office means that you can no longer espouse truth, then you should leave public office.

    This is nothing new. I think Bush had a brilliant election strategist, and many of us, including me, were a bit played.

    I was pretty excited about the supreme court choices, but was very upset by Bush’s endorsement of the morning after pill.

    Regardless, I will submit to my leader, whom God appointed, whether it be clinton or bush, in order to follow Paul’s exhortation in Romans 13.

  3. I’m hoping that this was simply a politically statement from the President and not what he truly believes, be cause it is nothing short of a lie straight from the pits of hell. And if this is truly what he believes, perhaps my prayers for him need to include a salvation experience with the One True God.

    I’m in agreement with the previous commenter, i think we may have been a bit played by Mr. Bush. I remember comparisons to Ronald Reagan in 2000…and he cracked that comparison soon after taking office.
    While i voted for him in both elections, i’m glad he cannot run again because i’m afraid he would be losing my vote this time around.

    But in the end also, i think history will have a better picture of him than what we are seeing now because of his stand against islamofascists and the war on terror.

Leave a Reply

