Matthew R. Perry

Why Am I Heading to Western Kentucky Tomorrow? To Answer a Bunch of Questions!

In Uncategorized on October 12, 2007 at 9:19 pm

Tomorrow, I leave for Salem, Kentucky, to lead a conference at the Salem Baptist Church entitled “Questions the Culture Asks (But Christians Are Afraid to Answer).” Mark Combs serves as pastor of this church and is a good brother in the Lord.

I plan on liveblogging my time there. The last time I liveblogged anything was when I went for my DMin seminar in June. A number of folks from my church really enjoyed seeing what I was up to, so I thought I’d do this once again.

Here are some prayer requests I have for this week:

  1. Pray that God would give me the words to say. I think of Exodus 4:10-12 when Moses was debating God’s call on his life. But Moses said to the LORD, “Oh, my Lord, I am not eloquent, either in the past or since you have spoken to your servant, but I am slow of speech and of tongue.” Then the LORD said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth? Who makes him mute, or deaf, or seeing, or blind? Is it not I, the LORD? Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall speak.”  I also think of the Apostle Paul in 1 Corinthians 2:1-5:  “And I, when I came to you, brothers, did not come proclaiming to you the testimony of God with lofty speech or wisdom. For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. And I was with you in weakness and in fear and much trembling, and my speech and my message were not in plausible words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, that your faith might not rest in the wisdom of men but in the power of God.”  Knowing that God’s words and God’s wisdom are given to his messengers brings me great comfort.  Please pray that God would give me the words to say — even if those words are not necessarily “prepared.”
  2. Pray that God is already melting hearts to be bent toward Christ.  The purpose of this conference is to help Christians start conversations with non-Christians — and to give them a reason to bring non-Christians to this service to get under the Gospel.
  3. Pray that God would give me traveling mercy.  I have a four-hour drive and Salem is in a fairly isolated area in Western Kentucky, so pray that I would find it and that GoogleMaps wouldn’t let me down. 
  4. Pray for John Ferguson from the Lexington Rescue Mission who will be preaching at Boone’s Creek this coming Sunday morning on “True Religion” from the text on Isaiah 58.  Cameron Potts will be preaching on Sunday PM on 1 Corinthians 15. 

Powered by ScribeFire.

  1. […] Jump to Comments (If you wish, you can catch up on the adventures here in Salem, KY by reading the Introduction, Part I and Part […]

Leave a Reply

