Matthew R. Perry

The Future of Evangelicalism (Hewitt Interviews Mohler)

In Apologetics, evangelicalism, Facebook on February 10, 2009 at 2:36 pm

Hugh Hewitt conducts an interview with Albert Mohler of Southern Seminary regarding the future of evangelicalism. You can read the transcript here.

I would like to bring out some important quotes from this interview. Hewitt asked Mohler if he was surprised by how evangelicals voted:

I was not surprised by the time we got there, Hugh. I am surprised somewhat given the big picture, looking over the last two or three years, if you just look at the Evangelical voting patterns in the years 2000, 2004, and then jump to 2008, clearly something happened. And I think the biggest explanation there is a generational change. I think we’re really looking at the fact that you’ve got a significant number of Evangelicals voting in 2008 who were in middle school or earlier than that in the year 2000, then in 2004. And clearly, there’s a new agenda here. There are some new interests, some new concerns, and this is a new challenge for us, I think.

Hewitt later asked Mohler about his blogging and use of Facebook:

I Twitter all day long, and I’m on Facebook with thousands of friends that are mostly in that age cohort. You know, like one of my students said to me, if you’re not on Facebook, you don’t exist. Now he meant that just as a word of help, in other words, to say we’re looking at a generation here for whom social media are the main means by which they communicate. This is their accountability. It used to be that people feel like they had to call everyone to stay in touch. Every once in a while, in prehistoric days, they might actually write a note, letter or a postcard. But these days, it’s all check the website, check what your friends are doing on Facebook, and make sure you’re keeping in touch.

Hewitt asked Mohler’s view on the Proposition 8 election result that upheld traditional marriage in the California constitution. Hewitt asked, “Is this the last victory for the pro-marriage agenda?

I’m definitely confirming that, but not…I wouldn’t put it in the fact they don’t care. I wouldn’t say that. I would say that what you have is a group of younger Evangelicals, and I disagree with them on this, Hugh, and they know it, a group of younger Evangelicals, many of whom simply don’t think that’s the right fight to fight. . . . And so it’s not that they don’t care. But you know, I was just talking to an Evangelical leader in Massachusetts who said look, he said my high school seniors have never known a time since they’ve been in high school or middle school that same sex marriage wasn’t legal in this state.

They touch on a wide array of issues that is well-worth the read.

Technorati Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

