Matthew R. Perry

Archive for October 24th, 2006|Daily archive page

Would you help supply books to Trinidadian pastors and lay Christians?

In Uncategorized on October 24, 2006 at 3:50 pm

td-lgflag.gifAs many of the MPDC readership know, I will be going to Trinidad and Tobago in January to lead a conference with pastors and lay Christians in the area of marriage and family. God has placed a passion in my heart for the pastors in Trinidad — they have little formal theological and ministerial education and I believe God desires to use me to help in this.

I would like to take some books down there to put in their hands. You can help in this endeavor. I have set up an Amazon.com wishlist (click here) where you can log on and buy a book that will be shipped here, and then we shall take it on to Trinidad to give as a gift. It is a small way that you can help strengthen and advance the kingdom of Christ amongst these pastors, who in turn will help strengthen the Christians of Trinidad and Tobago.

Never Heard of Warner Sallman? Maybe, But You Know His Work!

In Church Life, Theology on October 24, 2006 at 3:12 pm

sm_christ_portrait.jpg

Christianity Today has a very interesting article about Warner Sallman’s “The Head of Christ,” a portrait that hangs in many homes across the world. I personally remember this portrait hanging in my grandmother’s bedroom growing up and found myself quite attracted to it. For many, this is the definitive image of Christ.

What think you? Do you believe this looks even close to what Christ looked like while on earth? Does this match the Biblical description? And are you like me in that even having a picture like this violates the Second Commandment?

What say you?